by Joanna Feast, 10 June, 2016

SMSC and Emotional Literacy Domains in Jigsaw lessons

Jigsaw is more than a PSHE Scheme of Work. It provides a structured programme of personal development to nurture the ‘whole child’ and increase learning capacity, underpinned by mindfulness philosophy and practice.

SMSC and Emotional Literacy Domains in Jigsaw lessons (Teaser)

Click to Download

Every Jigsaw lesson from EYFS to Year 6 offers opportunities for children’s spiritual, moral, social and cultural (SMSC) development, and this is clearly mapped and balanced across each year group.

Likewise, Jigsaw is designed to provide structured opportunities in every lesson to practise and enhance the five skills associated with the emotional literacy (self-awareness, social skills, empathy, motivation and managing feelings).

At Jigsaw, we believe that these opportunities are vital for children’s development, their understanding of themselves and others and in increasing their capacity to learn.

The inset grids give a quick visual reference and summary of where these opportunities sit within Jigsaw.  Click here or click on the page sample below to download the whole PDF containing all the grids from F1/2 to Year 6.

SMSC and Emotional Literacy Domains in Jigsaw lessons_Page_02

Click a grid above to download the complete article (pdf)


Switch Category